On Tuesday, I was scheduled to cover an assignment at 2 p.m. with a 6 p.m. deadline. I called for information about the mental health court ahead of time, but I still needed to attend the program’s graduation at the St. Lucie County Courthouse and talk to some of the graduates.

A couple hours before the assignment, my editor called to see if I could cover another assignment that day. She wanted to know if I would be able to also write a story on a 1 p.m. dedication of a new Indian River State College building with the same 6 p.m. deadline.

To be honest, I had no idea if I could handle it. But I try to never say no to her. Plus, I figured this is what full-time reporters do every day.

Not only did my stories run in the local section of Wednesday’s edition of the Tribune, but my story from a couple weeks ago also ran in the newspaper. However, that story about St. Lucie INTACT tarping homes ran on A1.

Read the INTACT article here on TCPalm.com: “Volunteers help keep homes damaged in storms INTACT.”

Read the IRSC dedication article here on TCPalm.com: “IRSC bringing ‘education and opportunity’ to Avenue D.”

Read the graduation story here on TCPalm.com: “St. Lucie’s mental health court can help change lives.”